community

More Aussie vExperts / VCDX’s

Back in April, I did a post when VMware announced 754 vExperts for 2014. This week, 123 were named vExperts from the Q2 nominations. That adds another 2 Aussie vExperts to the list; Tim Williams (@ymmit85) and Matthew Healy (@matt232h). By my count, we now have 24 vExperts in Australia. Melbourne: 17 Brisbane: 4 Perth: 2 Sydney:1 (Nick Marshall moved to USA VMware HQ) 2014 APAC vExperts Name Last Twitter Region Alastair Cooke @DemitasseNZ New Zealand Andre Carpenter @andrecarpenter Melbourne Andrew Brydon @sidbrydon Melbourne Andrew Dauncey @daunce_ Melbourne Andrew Brydon @sidbrydon Melbourne Anthony Burke @pandom_ Melbourne Anthony Spiteri @anthonyspiteri Perth Arron Stebbing @ArronStebbing Melbourne Benjamin Troch @virtualb_me Singapore Chris Jones @cpjones44 Melbourne Craig Waters @cswaters1 Melbourne Dan Frith @penguinpunk Brisbane David Manconi @dmanconi New Zealand David Barclay @davidbarclay99 Brisbane Faisal Rahman @frtamal Frank Fan @frankfan7 Melbourne Grant Orchard @grantorchard Melbourne Greg Mulholland @g_mulholland Melbourne Iwan Rahabok @e1_ang Singapore Josh Odgers @josh_odgers Melbourne Justin Warren @jpwarren Melbourne Keiran Shelden @Keiran_Shelden Brisbane Mandeepak Sidhu @MannySidhu2 Melbourne Michael Webster @vcdxnz001 New Zealand Nathan Wheat @wheatcloud Melbourne Rob Waite @rob_waite_oz Melbourne Ryan McBride @RyanMcBride81 Sydney Shane White @ausvmguy Melbourne Tas Tareq Brisbane Tim Williams @ymmit85 Perth vExpert 2014 Q3 nominations are open until September 2014.

Melbourne VMUG May 2014 Wrap up

Last week we had the quarterly VMUG meeting at the Telstra Conference Centre. We paid homage to the creator of the VMware community, John Troyer, as he’s moved on from VMware after 9 years. John was responsible for the vExpert program, in which 16 were from Melbourne this year. If you want to participate in the VMUG community and perhaps become a vExpert, contact us about doing a community presentation.

vBeers – Thursday 3rd April

Virtualisation is thirsty work Because there’s never enough time at the Melbourne VMUG to catchup with members, we’re having an in-between VMUG vBeers at Trunktown. If you can’t wait for the next VMUG, this should keep you going for another 6 weeks until the next Melbourne VMUG, on 15th May, 2014. There’s no official agenda, meeting topic, speakers or sponsors. It’s a social occasion of virtualisation folks having a few drinks.

Top vBlogs 2014 A/NZ

You’re all winners Eric Siebert announced the results of the top virtualisation blogs the other day and it was great to see the local Australia/New Zealand guys score well. These bloggers really are “community guys”. They’re all active on twitter, and have participated in a VMUG at some level. Here are the Australia/New Zealand voting results… Blog Rank Previous Change Total Votes Total Points #1 Votes Long White Virtual Clouds (M.